Embracing The Dark Side

Perhaps it is an age thing, but I find myself increasingly less tolerant of people who describe themselves as white witches. What does that term even mean? I guess by “white” they actually mean good; but good by what standards? Good in relation to what?

Frankly my suspicion is that “white witches” are categorising themselves as such in relation to the prevailing Christian norms where there seems to be a sliding scale between Goodness as personified by Jesus on one side and evil  as personified by Satan on the other. Generally there isn’t much grey in between the two extremes, most things really are quite black and white. Well, this is not the world view that I subscribe to and I find it a bit odd that some of those who are willing to break the Christian taboo against using witchcraft, are reluctant to let go of a Christianesque world view. (I am not referring to Christo-Pagans or Christian-Witches here but rather to those who don’t claim those beliefs but still call themselves White Witches.)

If there is some other reason that people call themselves white witches please do enlighten me. (Maybe that’s an ironic phrase!).

To me a witch is a witch. A person is a person. Yes, a few people are very good in most ways while others are very bad; but generally we are all a rainbow mixture of things that the prevailing society would label as good or bad. I think that most pagan traditions recognize that it is by reconciling the various aspects within us that we become whole.

The first tattoo I had done on myself was a small ying-yang symbol. This symbolizes that wholeness or harmony is achieved through the correct balance of opposites. In my opinion that kind of wholeness or harmony is beyond subjective definitions of good or bad, but if people must think in such terms then perhaps it can be seen as the greater or spiritual good. In other words we achieve our full potential by arranging and harnessing all that we are and have in harmony. Neglecting the black or the white side only leads to imbalance and disharmony.

Harmony

Harmony

Those who call themselves “White Witches” would seem by implication to be sitting in judgement on those who are not. But the “Greater Good” is not always or only sweetness and light. (Even Christians acknowledge there is such a thing as ‘Righteous Anger’). Moreover it seems to me that White Witches are denying themselves (and those they influence) the possibility to reach their full potential. They are stuck in an over simplistic, Disney version of reality which is fine for children but not for fully developed adults. The real world is complicated and we do nobody any favors by ignoring the multi-faceted nature of the world around us or ourselves. Some of the most truly good people I know, people who in large ways or small are actively trying to make the world a better place for their community and for future generations are not in any way the kind of saintly characters western society and Disney movies hold up as good examples.

I came across  the following over at Mystic Wicks (my main home on the web). There are various “Charges” with similar titles. This one seems to have been written by somebody who goes by the  Mystic Wicks username “Syndramise” I find it very powerful and inspiring and the more often I read it the more I find in every line to contemplate and meditate on. Indeed there is so much to comment on in the following that I intend to come back and go through it verse by verse in future blog entries. If anybody else is looking in I would also welcome feedback and different opinions on this topic.

Charge of the Dark Goddess

Listen to the words of The Dark Goddess of Transformation; She who of old was called among men Kali, Hecate, Cerridwen, Lilith, Persephone, Fata, Morgana, Ereshkigal, Arianhrod, Durga, Inanna, Tiamat, and by countless other names:

“Hear me child, and know Me for who I am. I have been with you since you were born and I will stay with you till you return to Me at the final dusk. I am the passionate and seductive lover who inspires the poet to dream. I am the One who calls to you at the end of your journey. After the day is done, My children find their blessed rest in my embrace. I am the womb from which all things are born.

I am the shadowy, still tomb; all things must come to Me and bare their breast to die and be reborn to the Whole.”

“I am the Sorceress that will not be ruled, the Weaver of Time, the Teacher of Mysteries. I snip the threads that bring my children home to me, I slit the throats of the cruel and drink the blood of the heartless. Swallow your fear and come to me, and you will discover true beauty, strength, and courage. I am the fury which rips the flesh from injustice. I am the glowing forge that transforms your inner demons into tools of power. Open yourself to my embrace and overcome.”

“I am the glinting sword that protects you from harm, I am the crucible in which all the aspects of yourself merge together in a rainbow of union, I am the velvet depths of the night sky, the swirling mists of midnight shrouded in mystery, I am the chrysalis in which you will face that which terrifies you and from which you will blossom forth, vibrant and renewed. Seek me at the crossroads and you shall be transformed, for once you look upon my face there is no return.”

“I am the fire that kisses the shackles away, I am the cauldron in which all opposites grow to know each other in Truth, I am the web which connects all things, I am the Healer of all wounds, the Warrior who rights all wrongs in their time. I make the weak strong, I make the arrogant humble, I raise up the oppressed and empower the disenfranchised. I am Justice tempered with Mercy.”

“Most importantly child I am you. I am part of you and I am within you. Seek me within and without, and you will be strong.

Know me. Venture into the dark so that you may awaken to Balance, Illumination, and Wholeness. Take my Love with you everywhere and find Power within to be who you wish”

Leave a Reply

