Inspired by Hathor/Het Hert

Hathor is an inspiration and role model for me. I see her as a powerful and positive life force in female form. She is the only deity I regularly commune with in prayer and meditation. As I try to follow her example and live by her inspiration, and as I call to her and upon her in magic and ritual, I sometimes describe myself as her priestess.

She came to me when I was at a crossroads in my spiritual path. While some of my philosophical ideas based on aspects of Taoism and Paganism were becoming quite fixed, there was a deep void in the place where a relationship with deity should have been. (I had always believed there was a divine element in the universe but I had never found an aspect or personification of deity that I could relate to intellectually and emotionally). And that is when she found me!

Getting to know Hathor filled me with a sense of the deep joy which is one of the defining aspects of her character. But that was only the beginning. As I grow I learn more and more of her subtleties and complexities. (And she is very complex!).

I think one of the things that attracted me to her from the start, and still does, is that in so many ways she is the archetypal modern woman who is successful and comfy in her own body and with her own sexuality. She authenticates the female experience of life. At the same time she has a lot of character traits more often associated with masculinity. So I think she is easily approachable by both men and women; and indeed since the earliest days of her cult she has attracted men and women and her temples were administrated by both priests and priestesses.

I use both the Greek version of her name and the Egyptian, depending on the reason and my mood. She doesn’t seem to mind.

Leave a Reply

