Midweek Musing: Capybaras And Jellyfish

With Beltane happening this week it has been hard to avoid over indulging in my favorite themes of spirituality and sex. So for my mid-week musing I wanted to think about something which had no obvious connection to those subjects. The result was Capybaras. Capybaras are one of my favorite animals because they are just cute and comical. Whoever had the idea of inventing a Guinea Pig as big as a real pig? It sounds like the plot of a black and white B Movie;- “Attack Of The Giant Hamsters!” But they are real and I love them.

In fact I have never seen a Capybara in real life. They live in South America but apparently there are plenty of them in zoos around the world so my ambition of meeting one in the flesh could be achieveable.

For those who have never come across them before, the capybara  is the largest rodent in the world. It is native to South America, where it inhabits savannas and dense forests and lives near bodies of water. It is a highly social species and can be found in groups as large as 100 individuals, but usually live in groups of 10–20 individuals. They are are excellent swimmers, and can remain completely submerged for up to five minutes, an ability they use to evade predators. Capybaras can sleep in water if need be, only keeping their noses out of the water. During midday, as temperatures increase, they wallow in water and then graze in late afternoons and early evenings.

And they also look a bit like small, furry hippos.

I also like Jellyfish. If you ever want to shut me up for a few hours, take me to an aquarium and place me in front of a tank of Jellyfish. I will be totally hypnotized and entranced! They look like creatures from another world and I think they are magical.

Oh and in case you were wondering what happened after my last blog entry; mission accomplished. Cassie is a happy lady! 😉

 

One response to “Midweek Musing: Capybaras And Jellyfish

  1. 🙂 Whoa! WoWzer! And, good for you! 😉

Leave a Reply

