The power of music… And the Tao.

only here only now

I have tried to write of this before and backed off.  I just don’t have the words.  But tonight I must try.

Dimly lit room, warm against the black and cold night outside.  The house is still.  I sit in solitude and listen.  Time stops.

I’ve heard this music a thousand times, returning to it again and again.  My refuge, my sanctuary.  Redemptive. Elusive.  Rapturous.  As beautiful as the blue sky of day.

More than a half century ago, Miles Davis summoned Bill Evans, John Coltrane, Cannonball Adderly, Jimmy Cobb, and Paul Chambers to the studio and they made this magic.  And here I am, for the thousandth time, taken away by the absolute artistry of it all.  Lifted up and away.

If ever I am lost, and I need to get home, I come here and listen- and give thanks for the courage of those artists and for all…

View original post 32 more words

One response to “

  1. Hey Cassie,

    Thanks much. Quite the selection of reblogs. Honored to be included.

    Enjoy Zurich.

    Wishing you interesting journey- and safe home.

    Tom

Leave a Reply

