GLBT Rights

Earlier this week I reblogged a post about the hearings at the American Supreme Court which may (or may not) finally establish the right of homosexuals to get married and to be seen as fully equal under the law.

Meanwhile there has been a campaign at Facebook and other social media in which people have been replacing their own profile picture with variations of the above symbol in solidarity with people in the LGBT community, hoping for a fair and just outcome at the Supreme Court. I have done likewise. I am not convinced that such campaigns have much effect but sometimes it is better to do something rather than nothing.

I am not American so the result will have no direct baring on me. While I am bisexual I have never felt personally oppressed. I have no particular desire to get married actually whether to a man or a woman. So why should I or anybody else bother with this campaign?

The following poem by Martin Niemoller has always meant a lot to me.

When the Nazis came for the communists,
I remained silent;
I was not a communist.

When they locked up the social democrats,
I remained silent;
I was not a social democrat.

When they came for the trade unionists,
I did not speak out;
I was not a trade unionist.

When they came for the Jews,
I remained silent;
I wasn’t a Jew.

When they came for me,
there was no one left to speak out.

Actually spiritually and sexually I am I suppose in minority groups. I am fortunate enough to live in a society where I can be fairly (but not fully) open about such matters. Not everyone is so fortunate.

I hope one day we will live in a society where the colour of a person’s skin, their gender and their sexuality will be of no more importance than the colour of people’s eyes… A society with the wisdom to know that just as brown and blue eyes can be equally beautiful, so can all shades of skin colour and all varieties of adult sexuality and gender orientation.

Until then I will join campaigns and hope that those who are in the majority will increasingly get behind those who are in the minority.

And from a selfish point of view I hope that if my rights are ever trampled on there will be someone willing to stand up for me.

3 responses to “GLBT Rights

  1. Pingback: Equality To The Bone | seventhvoice

  2. writingthebody

    Good on you for waging this struggle….and I honour you with a tag….but feel free not to do anything further….
    http://writingthebody.wordpress.com/

  3. Yes we stand up not for any particular group, but for the rights of human beings to “Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the law” and “As it harm none (unless they enjoy it), do what thou wilt”. We stand against those right winged christian fundamentalists who want to bring their government into our bedrooms.

Leave a Reply

